top of page
Liz newcomers.jpg

Liz Hlebasko 


My husband of 35 years, Joe,  and I moved to Columbus from Indianapolis in October 2021.
I found this group on my 3rd day in town!
We are the parents of 2 adult daughters; the oldest, Lydia, lives in Indy, the youngest, Hanna, is married and lives in central Michigan.
I enjoy sewing and have a small business, making custom purses and bags, with Lydia.
I am enjoying the community, especially the people and the ability to get anywhere in town in 10 minutes. 


Jennifer Ehara

Vice President

My name is Jennifer Ehara. I have 2 boys, one girl, and 3 dogs. I’m originally from Illinois, and have been in Columbus since 2004. My hobbies are sewing, cooking, and anything outdoors. I speak Japanese and Spanish and am a career ESL teacher. 


Jenny Smillie

Secretary and Social Media

Hello! I moved to Columbus in 2020 from Greenwood, Indiana with my husband, two boys and two cats. I am originally from Springfield, Illinois. I have a wide range of interests including cooking and baking. I love the active, small time feeling of Columbus and have enjoyed making my home here.


Peg Lindenlaub

Treasurer and Newsletter Editor

My husband and I moved to Columbus in 2021. We have one son and two grandsons. I enjoy cooking, gardening, traveling and the Newcomers Club! It is fun to meet new people and to explore new things in our community.


Norma Huisheere

Special Interest Group Coordinator

My husband and I are from Wisconsin but moved to the Carolinas 11 years ago to get away from bad Wisconsin winters!  But, it was time for us to move closer as I missed family time as they are all still  in Wisconsin. We did a little research on Columbus and southern Indiana in April 2022, and made the leap to move here in July 2022!  We’ve been very happy with how friendly people are here.  I’ve really enjoyed activities with the Newcomers Group and what a truly welcoming & fun experience it has been!  

bottom of page